Hello World,

I write poetry a lot, it’s my first refuge in an emotional storm. I don’t tend to write poetry that could be described as ‘hearts and flowers’ style, some people could find it depressing or cynical I guess. That’s fine, everyone is entitled to their own opinion and the right to express them; its funny how oppression makes you appreciate freedom.

I’d like to share a piece I wrote about a year after I left Mr Who, it’s really about freedom of choice.

Mr Who?

You sneered at me that I would never survive,

Out on my own without you by my side,

You told me I just wouldn’t cope,

That you were my rock and I had no hope.

I believed your lies for far too long,

Finally I decided I had to be strong,

Slowly but surely you were smothering my soul,

With hatred and rage and your need to control.

One day I saw myself hanging from a tree,

I had to admit you were killing me,

So I packed my bags and left our home,

Just me and the cat – out on our own.

Three years have passed but you still turn up,

Hoping to find me down on my luck,

Lost and alone and desperate for you,

I can honestly say that will never be true.

There are no luxuries in my new life,

But I’m happy to pay freedom’s price,

I’ve moved on without you and it feels divine,

Knowing each life choice is now truly mine.

Everyone has a right to feel safe in their own home.  Everybody wants to be loved and love. Everyone has the right to make choices for themselves.  It’s a wonderful feeling, freedom.

About auswrite

I am 48 years old, single and on disability support pension for PTSD; in 2009 I left a long term abusive relationship and started to rebuild my life. In those 4 years I have managed to keep paying off a car loan, pay my rent and through Open Universities have achieved my life-long dream of gaining a degree; I now have a Bachelor of Arts degree from Griffith University and am currently working on a Master of Arts degree through Swinburne University. I am passionate about helping people who find themselves to be victims, survivors or relatives of those suffering from domestic abuse; I truly feel we need to end the silence on domestic violence by helping each other, and each of our voices combined together, can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

