Hello World

I’d like to share a poem I wrote about Mr Who. Don’t be put off by the word ‘poem’, there are no hearts and flowers here but in the vein of information coming from this blog, I feel this is relevant.

TRUE SELF

He swept into my life,

Like the sun after the rain,

I really thought I’d found someone

Who would never cause me pain,

I guess I was naive back then,

In  believing all he wanted me to,

He promised me a life of joy,

He never followed through.

At first he made a big pretense,

Of showing how caring he could be,

And like everyone I believed him,

Until he showed his true self to me.

Behind the closed doors of our home,

Away from other people’s eyes,

He tortured and abused me,

Until I simply wanted to die.

Take care, stay safe xx

About auswrite

I am 48 years old, single and on disability support pension for PTSD; in 2009 I left a long term abusive relationship and started to rebuild my life. In those 4 years I have managed to keep paying off a car loan, pay my rent and through Open Universities have achieved my life-long dream of gaining a degree; I now have a Bachelor of Arts degree from Griffith University and am currently working on a Master of Arts degree through Swinburne University. I am passionate about helping people who find themselves to be victims, survivors or relatives of those suffering from domestic abuse; I truly feel we need to end the silence on domestic violence by helping each other, and each of our voices combined together, can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

